Timothy R.B. Johnson, Jr., MD, FACOG

Timothy R.B. Johnson, Jr., MD, FACOG

Therese Dondero Lecture: The Foundation and Our Professions: Shaping the Next 50 Year

The Therese Dondero Memorial Fund was established in 1986 by Dr. Samuel Oberlander with the assistance of family members and friends of Therese Dondero, CNM, through contributions to the A.C.N.M. Foundation, Inc.  Since then, the Dondero Fund has consistently supported an invited speaker for ACNM’s Annual Meeting who has both a remarkable record of achievements in maternal and infant health and a deep commitment to Therese’s ideals of excellence in clinical care, excellence in midwifery education, and advocacy for the rights of all childbearing women, regardless of economic or obstetric risk status, to responsive personalized care.

Dr. Johnson will address Therese’s ideals through the lens of the historical influences of the Foundation by drawing attention to the many ways the Foundation adds value to ACNM membership. Significant historical milestones in support for the strategic goals of ACNM related to research, global outreach and public education, including funding for development of the accreditation process and the certifying exam in the early years, seed funding for the Division of Research at its inception, publication of Department of Global Outreach life-saving skills manuals, early funding for the public education campaign, now known Midwifery & Women’s Health, Discover Midwifery Care at www.OurMomentofTruth.com, and most recently support for a new, state of the art Association Management System.

Dr. Johnson will provide predictions for how and why the Foundation’s next 50 years can be shaped with a full embrace of a midwifery profession-wide culture of philanthropy based on collaboration. He will also show how this culture shift will direct the midwifery profession as a whole, and ACNM in particular, toward a more prosperous future.

Timothy R.B. Johnson, MD has been the Bates Professor of the Diseases of Women and Children and Chair of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the University of Michigan since 1993.  He is also Arthur F. Thurnau Professor; Professor, Women’s Studies, and Research Professor, Center for Human Growth and Development.  His education and training have been at the University of Michigan, University of Virginia and Johns Hopkins. Prior to returning to the University of Michigan, he was on the faculty at Johns Hopkins. He is active in international teaching and training especially in Ghana.  He is author of over 300 articles, chapters and books and has served on numerous editorial boards, study sections, professional committees, societies and boards. Dr. Johnson has received the Distinguished Service Award, the highest honor of ACOG.  In 2011, he was the recipient of the Louis M. Hellman MD Midwifery Partnership Award, presented jointly by the Foundation, ACNM and the Midwifery Business Network.  He is past president of the Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics, receiving their Lifetime Achievement Award in 2012. Dr. Johnson is an elected member of the National Academy of Medicine (formerly Institute of Medicine) of the National Academy of Science.  In 2016, he received the University of Michigan’s Rudi Ansbacher Leadership Award for Support of Women in Healthcare at the University of Michigan’s Leadership Summit for Women in Academic Medicine and Healthcare.  In 2016, he was appointed to the Foundation’s Board of Trustees, a position he also held in the 1990s, during which time he became a Charter Member of the Foundation’s Mary Breckinridge Club.